Zombieland

I am weary, and frustrated.  I feel like…nothing.  I don’t feel happy, I don’t feel sad.  I feel flat.  I don’t care about much except how lousy I am feeling.   I feel like I am watching conversations and only nominally participating in them.  Very, very detached. And zero motivation to get anything done.  Even things I have to do, like show up at work on time.  I took a sick day yesterday just because I couldn’t bear getting out of bed.  Today, I managed to get out of bed and still make it in for 9:00 a.m., but it was difficult.  I made it through half the day before coming home to bingewatch Homeland on Netflix.

I am wishing I had called my pdoc’s office earlier today to see if I could get a cancellation, rather than waiting another two weeks.  I guess I can call first thing tomorrow.  

I wonder if it is the Effexor or the Seroquel.  My guess is the Seroquel.  I have been on Effexor in the past and it didn’t give me this zombie feeling.  I’m at 300 mg of Seroquel now.  I wonder if I should cut back.  Of course, common sense tells me to not change anything without talking to a pdoc first.

I just don’t know how long I can go on feeling this way. 

3 thoughts on “Zombieland

  1. I am also on Seroquel x 400mg, just reduced to 300mg. My aim is to have it down to 200mg in about 6 weeks. I’ve been on it for 3-4 years and, yes, I remember the “zombie” feeling all too well. However, at the time, I rather enjoyed it! It was an escape from the mental torture, but now I’m in a better place to tackle the reduction. My advice is to stick with it. Tolerance to Seroquel builds remarkably quickly, so that Zombie feeling should pass as the days go by. If you’re still feeling the effects in about a fortnight, maybe a lower dose might suit you better. I tried every antidepressant available, but none came close to the temporary support from Seroquel. Good luck with it and well done for making work!

    Like

Leave a Reply

